Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Revising knife law in Tennessee

Discussion in 'Non-Firearm Weapons' started by hso, Mar 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hso

    hso Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    47,736
    Location:
    0 hrs east of TN
    http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?p=8785611#post8785611

    That's the thread detailing a new effort to remove the blade length restrictions and the restrictions on switchblades in TN.

    You can cross the county line and be in violation of a blade length restriction just by traveling to visit family or do business currently. This legislation would correct that error. It will also remove the outdated rules on switchblades and permit your GA/KY/NC legal knife to be carried.

    This legislation needs our support.
     
  2. lobo9er

    lobo9er Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,225
    Location:
    Earth, Currently
    thanks for link I have family in Tenn. I wasn't aware there were blade restrictions there. I will pass this along to them if they haven't heard about it yet
     
  3. telomerase

    telomerase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,229
    Location:
    The bear-infested hills of Grafton NH
    I would post the link to the NH knife laws...

    ...but we don't have any.
     
  4. hso

    hso Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    47,736
    Location:
    0 hrs east of TN
    You don't have any thanks to the efforts of folks like Knife Rights that worked with Jenn Coffey to get rid of them.

    Perhaps a little help for Knife Rights in TN would be useful as those of us that are members of Knife Rights gave a wee bit of help there.
     
  5. telomerase

    telomerase Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,229
    Location:
    The bear-infested hills of Grafton NH
    I worked on her campaigns :D
     
  6. hso

    hso Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    47,736
    Location:
    0 hrs east of TN
    We have movement on this bill. Now we need to focus on the final push.

    Thanks to our phone calls and emails Tennessee Representative Mike Harrison has agreed to hear HB0581 the Tennessee Knife Rights Bill, on April 3. It is important to contact him and THANK him for agreeing to hear the bill and also to ask him to vote YES on HB0581 when it is heard.

    His email address is: rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov His office phone is 615- 741-7480

    THEN it is CRITICAL that you contact the following members of the committee to ask them to vote YES when it is heard on April 3.
    Rep. David Alexander - rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-8695
    Rep. Joe Armstrong - rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0768
    Rep. Kevin Brooks - rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-1350
    Rep. Lois DeBerry - rep.lois.deberry@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-3830
    Rep, Craig Fitzhugh - rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2134
    Rep. David Hawk - rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7482
    Rep. Gerald McCormick - rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2548
    Rep. Steve McDaniel - rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0750
    Rep. Gary Odom - rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4410
    Rep. Dennis Roach - rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2534
    Rep. Charles Sargent - rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-6808

    HB0581 would change the existing law to allow possession of all automatic/switchblade knives and enact knife law preemption which would make the state the sole authority on knife laws, which will create consistency throughout Tennessee.

    Please contact Rep Harrison and the others on the committee NOW if you live in or travel to/through Tennessee!
     
  7. 22-rimfire

    22-rimfire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    11,300
    Location:
    TN
    Thanks HSO for the links. I contacted my reps. Admittedly the switch blade law is kind of ridiculous these days, but they could go the other way.
     
  8. hso

    hso Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    47,736
    Location:
    0 hrs east of TN
    It may be useful to point out that the current technology has made the switchblade law quant and outdated, as well as loosing tax money on sales. Since current Federal law makes imported switchblades illegal they'd be supporting American workers as well as updating the law by voting YES on HB0581.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2013
  9. DAdams

    DAdams Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,080
    Location:
    East Tennessee
    I have been pursuing and encouraging my Representatives. They both voted yes on the SB.
     
  10. kim breed

    kim breed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    outdated for a long time. local law enforcement have been complaining about it for years. Bill needs to be updated.
     
  11. hso

    hso Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    47,736
    Location:
    0 hrs east of TN
    It only takes a few minutes to call everyone on the list and simply say, "Hi, I'd want to encourage the Representative to support HB0581, the Tennessee Knife Rights bill."
     
  12. hso

    hso Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    47,736
    Location:
    0 hrs east of TN
    Once more into the breach...

    HB0581 cleared the House Finance Subcommittee and is now on the agenda for a full House Finance Committee vote next week! :D

    We now need to call and email Chairman Sargent and each one of the House Finanace Committee members and ask them to please vote YES on HB0581.

    According to the legislative analysis, HB0581 has "no significant fiscal impact" on the state of Tennessee and therefore there is no reason why the Finance Committee shouldn't pass this bill. However, it still received 5 NO votes in the sub-committee! That is a dangerous message to the full Committee.

    Please be sure to contact everyone on this list, then get your friends, family and anyone else you know to call and email also!!!

    When calling and writing, simply ask them to vote in favor of HB0581, remind them that the legislative analysis says it has "no significant fiscal impact", and you could also remind them that SB1015, the companion bill in the Tennessee Senate, has already passed 27-3. Keep your calls and emails POLITE, short and to the point.

    Here's the contact information for everyone we need to inundate with calls and emails. Let's have them come in Monday morning to full in boxes!

    Chairman, Rep. Charles Sargent - rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-6808
    Rep. David Alexander - rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-8695
    Rep. Joe Armstrong - rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0768
    Rep. Kevin Brooks - rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-1350
    Rep. Kent Calfee - rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7658
    Rep. Mike Carter - rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-3025
    Rep. Barbara Cooper - rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4295
    Rep. Lois DeBerry - rep.lois.deberry@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-3830
    Rep, Craig Fitzhugh - rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2134
    Rep. Steve Hall - rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2287
    Rep. Mike Harrison - rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7480
    Rep. David Hawk - rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7482
    Rep. Matthew Hill - rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2251
    Rep. Curtis Johnson - rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4341
    Rep. Gerald McCormick - rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2548
    Rep. Steve McDaniel - rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0750
    Rep. Larry Miller - rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4453
    Rep. Gary Odom - rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4410
    Rep. Dennis Roach - rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2534
    Rep. Johnny Shaw - rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4538
     
  13. Deltaboy

    Deltaboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,262
    Location:
    Texas
    Keep pushing.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page