Discussion in 'Rallying Point and Range Discussions' started by Polishrifleman, Dec 4, 2007.
So what's the word?
Excellent news on the fingerprint card; I had planned on going down to my local police department and have them do a set. Is the required background check also something that is done at the seminar, or do I have to have this done prior, and by whom?
Just got back from a trip to Whistler, will update tomorrow but gotta do some last minute shopping. We are on after the 14th in Bellevue. Exact date etc... will be forthcoming.
I'm all for it. Just let me know when.
After the 14th works for me. Just let me know when and where.
Ok, I am kind of back (been playing too much).
Here's what I am shooting for based on feedback so now I need a go/no go from everyone interested.
Date: Monday Jan. 21st (waiting for verification from instructor)
Time: 6pm to 10pm
Location: Bellevue by Bellevue Athletic Club
Cost of Class: $75 Paid to Instructor that Night
Cost of Application: $65.25 (Sent in With Application)
Cost of Fingerprints (Bellevue Fingerprinting): $15
Cost of Passport Photos: $5 (Costco)
Cost of Notary: Free at your bank???
Total Cost approximately: $160
Bring Sack Dinner
Let me know so I can get a head count. The class is limited to 12 people on a first come first serve.
I will attend, and I will await further details on what all we need to bring with us, and what will be done at the actual session.
Count me in!
Ok, unfortunatly I'm out. I'll have to catch another class at a later date. My work schedule conflicts
Sounds good, count me also!.
Half Full based on this thread and PM's, still waiting on confirmation from the instructor but this fits with his previous time table so it shouldn't be a problem.
I will attend.
You might want to note that some states like Florida, Colorado, etc will not honor non resident CCWs from Utah.
Pursuant to Colorado law (CRS 18-12-213), the State of Colorado will recognize a valid permit issued in another state IF the permit was issued to a resident of the state issuing the permit.
The state of Colorado no longer recognizes the validity of any permit issued by any state to a nonresident of that state (see CRS 18-12-213 amended 2007).
(6) These states issue concealed carry licenses to qualified individuals who are non-residents. These non-resident permits cannot be honored under Florida's reciprocity provision.
Just a FYI
Correct. You can click on WA, UT, and FL and see what states honor non-resident versus resident-only permits from those states:
From what I can tell a non-resident Utah permit will get you most everything a non-resident Florida permit will, except for Florida itself. But otherwise the combination of a WA and non-resident UT permit covers a good number of states.
My Dad and I are both interested. Please put me on the list for two.
21st is confirmed, class is full (maybe squeeze in one or two more) but we can put together another one too (after we get through the first one). You will receive a PM from me but here's the list as I have it:
Keep updated in case someone drops out.
One drop out so far, so definately one space open!
Please count me in will definitely attend, thx.
If anyone is having trouble figuring out where to get fingerprinted, you should check your local police department. Kitsap County Sheriffs Office does fingerprint cards for $10.
Polishrifleman: Maybe I missed it in the thread, but what needs to be notarized?
I don't know for sure on the Notary. I am assuming you will need to sign your Utah application before you send it in and the state of Utah would like that signature notarized. That is just an assumption though. All I know you need for the class is the $$$ for class, pen, paper and ID.
Notary, fingerprints, photo's etc... are on your time and sent in to Utah with Utah $$$$ along with stamped course completion on application upon finishing the class on the 21st.
The instructor is out on vacation so I will update next week with anything new.
Ahh, that makes sense. I was thinking that we were going to hand everything to the instructor, and he'd take care of it from there. I'm glad I asked.
Assumption correct. After you have completed the class and have a stamped and signed (by the instructor) application you fill it all out and do NOT sign it yourself.
Get thee in front of a notary public, show ID, and then sign it in their presence. They will likely also have you sign a register or log-book that they commonly keep for their records. Add a fingerprint card, a check, an envelope, postage, and a few weeks time and you too will have a geeky looking UT CPL ID card with a red stripe on it.
I'd be interested in taking a class in either the Seattle or Bellevue area if space opens up.
Do we have an actual address? I'm the kind of guy that gets lost easy, so I like having a destination to plug into the gps.
Separate names with a comma.