Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What are the rules about CCW and instant background check?

Discussion in 'Legal' started by MeekandMild, Jul 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MeekandMild

    MeekandMild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,877
    I stopped in at a gun store in Mississippi recently and was told by the clerk that people with Mississippi CCW cards didn't have to go through the instant check? Is this true nationwide or just in some states?
     
  2. David Park

    David Park Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    It's part of each state's CCW law, so it depends on the state. VA requires the instant check even if you have CCW.
     
  3. Marko Kloos

    Marko Kloos Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,587
    Location:
    Enfield, NH
    It varies from state to state. In Georgia, CCW holders don't have to submit to an instant background check. Here in Tennessee, even CCW holders need to pony up their $10 to TBI every time they buy a gun. I guess the state doesn't want to lose the extra revenue.

    I could buy a decent long-range rifle setup with all the TBI fees I've forked over since I got my CCW in 1999. :cuss:
     
  4. Standing Wolf

    Standing Wolf Member in memoriam

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    24,041
    Location:
    Idahohoho, the jolliest state
    Law-abiding American citizens with concealed hand gun permits are still required to submit to background checks in Colorado. Fortunately, the process usually takes five to ten minutes.
     
  5. dinosaur

    dinosaur Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    NE Pa
    When I first moved here the Sheriffs wanted you to apply for a CCW because they didn`t want to deal with the Brady 5 day waiting period. Now we have the instant check without a CCW. You don`t need CCW to own, just carry.
     
  6. org

    org Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Before Colorado took over instant checks through the CBI, we didn't have to go through instant checks if we had a CCW. Now, obviously, we do. I don't know if it's worth it to avoid federal scrutiny or not.
     
  7. TheEgg

    TheEgg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,363
    It is a state by state thing. In Texas if you have your CHL, no insta-check -- fill out the federal form, show them your CHL and driver's license, pay the money and you are good to go. Even if you don't have a CHL, there is no fee for the insta-check here in Texas.
     
  8. QuarterBoreGunner

    QuarterBoreGunner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    West Oakland
    In Cali, when purchasing a firearm, your CCW is only good to waive the 'safe handling' test you need to go through to be eligible for ownership.

    I'd love to see some legislation waiving the 10 day wait for a firearm for CCW holders in Cali.

    I'd also like to see Angelina Jolie serving me a martini.

    The likelyhood of either is a bit slim.
     
  9. bubbygator

    bubbygator Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Sarasota
    Florida is the same as Georgia (in this respect - otherwise we're much superior :D )... no check, but we still have to pay the money.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page