Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cost of CCW training??

Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by dfariswheel, Sep 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dfariswheel

    dfariswheel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    6,121
    I would like to ask of members in right to carry states:
    What is the average cost of CCW training in your areas?

    Missouri just rammed CCW right down our governor's throat, so it looks like we'll be able to carry within a few months.

    The law takes effect in 30 days, and out of state CCW holders will be able to carry here on their state's card.

    The law states that the license will cost $100.00 plus the fee for a new Driver's License with a CCW stamp. This fee will be the same as for the cost of replacing a lost driver's license. Renewal is every three years for a fee of $50.00.

    Everything is up in the air right now, especially about who's going to provide the 8 hours training. The State Conservation agency is awash in money, and there's talk that they would be a good group to do it.

    I was wondering what the average cost for the training is in other areas.
     
  2. pax

    pax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,762
    Location:
    Washington state
    Washington has CCW but no training requirement. :) So no additional hurdle to keep you from getting a CCW when you need it.

    Oregon's CCW training runs as low as $35 to $50 and only takes a few hours. No shooting is required, just a basic info seminar about the laws that apply to you as a CCW holder. Any NRA trainer can certify you for CCW.

    pax

    Before 1912, when there was no 'gun control' in this nation and machine guns could be purchased through the mail, foreign visitors found America one of the most peaceful and polite nations on earth. -- Vin Suprynowicz
     
  3. BerettaNut92

    BerettaNut92 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    9,724
    I paid $250 or so for a 2 day, 16 hour class. It may have exceeded CA requirements though.
     
  4. Schuey2002

    Schuey2002 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,388
    Location:
    The Oregon Coast..
    Life is good in Ory-gun.. :D
     
  5. El Tejon

    El Tejon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,085
    Location:
    Lafayette, Indiana-the Ned Flanders neighbor to Il
    Indiana: $0.00 (no requirement).:)
     
  6. Smoke

    Smoke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,245
    Location:
    Bosque County, Texas
    State Fees = $140. for 4 years

    Required training is $50.00 - 100. depending on where ya go.
     
  7. mete

    mete Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,579
    Location:
    NY
    I find it sad that a state would issue a CCW without mandatory training. If you ever have to use your gun without having training you might find quickly what the real world is like. Without training you are far more likely to be killed , injured, arrested or sued. Get the best training you can find, it will be one of the best investments you could make.
     
  8. Henry Bowman

    Henry Bowman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,717
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Here in Ohio you can pay as much (or little) as you want and train until your trigger finger falls off . . . no CCW for the commoners.

    Just griping . . . :banghead:
     
  9. Oracle

    Oracle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Austell, GA
    In GA, there is no training requirement and issuance is "shall issue". That doesn't mean that people shouldn't get training, it means that the State recognizes the right of law-abiding people to keep and bear arms, with or without training (although they do require you to get permission first, in the form of a CCW, which I dislike but can live with).
     
  10. TonyB

    TonyB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Schodack NY
    Can't say for all counties of NY,but it cost me $30 for an extended NRA course....the class was kind of useless as far as CCW....they just want to make sure you won't shoot your eye out.....from what I understand it's actually the 2nd half of the NRA handgun course.....but in NY you can't even handle a handgun w/ out a permit,so the safety class is just the 1st half of the NRA deal.
    My Father who's in another county but about 10 min. away,needed no extra training...
    Then again there arn't many unrestricted permits around here......:scrutiny:
     
  11. Ringer

    Ringer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,249
    Location:
    North Georgia
    Here in Michigan:
    $105 to the county, good for 5 years, same cost to renew
    $75 to $175 for an 8 hour (minimum) NRA or similar course that covers, safetly, handling storage of firearms and (very) basics of laws around self defense and home protection. Has to include range time and at least 30 rounds fired. The instructor said for them to pass you, you have to hit the 8.5" x 11" piece of paper 15 times at 5 yards (no limit on number of rounds it takes you to do that) that was tough.

    Hurry up and wait anywhere from 6 weeks to 6 months depending on your county and who knows what else.
     
  12. repsychler

    repsychler Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    In Minnesota the permit is $100/5 years, then $75/5 years to renew. The training courses are going for about $125-$150.
     
  13. jsalcedo

    jsalcedo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,683
    I paid $100 for the training and $140 for the permit.

    As for mandatory training....

    There should be no conditions on exercising 2nd Amendment rights.

    People should take responsibility for their own actions, education, and
    personal protection.

    The state has no business mandating what proper CCW training entails.
     
  14. Andrew Rothman

    Andrew Rothman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,669
    Location:
    MN
    repsychler said...
    Youch! I paid $215 for Final Option training at Bill's Gun Shop. That's what you get for being in a hurry!

    Poor but happy,

    Matt
     
  15. CZ-100

    CZ-100 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    979
    Location:
    Sourh FL/East TN
    Four years of my life, And they paid me... :what:











    Military :neener:
     
  16. hso

    hso Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    47,966
    Location:
    0 hrs east of TN
    $50 for a day of training is the lowest here in Knoxville that I'm aware of.
     
  17. Ala Dan

    Ala Dan Member in memoriam

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,879
    Location:
    Home Of The First Capitol Of The Confederate State
    Here in central DixieLand you get get it for FREE :D
    if you have the right contact's.:uhoh: :rolleyes:

    Best Wishes,
    Ala Dan, N.R.A. Life Member
     
  18. repsychler

    repsychler Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Mpayne
    Youch! I paid $215 for Final Option training at Bill's Gun Shop. That's what you get for being in a hurry!

    I trained at Bills, it was a PlusP course for $125. I took my training about 3 weeks before the law passed. It seems after passage of the MPPA, it just got more expensive to train people. :rolleyes:
     
  19. Jason Demond

    Jason Demond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Mivonks, MI
    I paid $50.00 bucks for a 12hr class, two years ago. I have seen people pay as much as $250.00 for the same class.
     
  20. Doug444

    Doug444 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Draper, UT
    In Utah CCW training runs from $35-$85, some include fingerprints, some don't, etc. License fee was ~$60, IIRC. Mine's up for renewal in a year, then I'll know what renewal costs.
     
  21. Michael_2112

    Michael_2112 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Great Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
    Pennsylvania

    $19.00 for five years. No training requirement. Shall Issue. Very few places you can't CCW.


    ~Mike
     
  22. Stickjockey

    Stickjockey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,902
    Location:
    Happy Valley, Oregon
    Just found out that Multnomah County Sherriff's Office does a CCW class on Wednesday nights at their 122nd Avenue building in Portland for $20.00.
     
  23. cobb

    cobb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    S. MN.
    I do NRA classes in Southern Minnesota and charge $100 for the class that are accepted by the state for a permit to carry.
     
  24. WhoKnowsWho

    WhoKnowsWho Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Location:
    Maricopa, AZ
    $50 for the permit, renew every 4 years. I can't remember if it is the same price, I believe it is.

    Classes are 16 hours, 2 days, range from $50 to $120. Same required course guidelines. The states issues the training requirements that the classes follow, or try to follow.
     
  25. AZ Husker

    AZ Husker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Arizona's state licensed private instructors set their own fees and it varies from $75 up. For reciprocity, most states require training equal to their own. That kinda puts the "no training needed" states out of luck.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page