Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Carrying a Concealed Weapon

Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by lbr, Aug 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lbr

    lbr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    I am having debate with a group of friends about carrying concealed weapons? This may be a dumb question, but can anyone tell me who exactly can carry a concealed firearm and how does one become licensed to carry one?
     
  2. fairfax1

    fairfax1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
  3. mnrivrat

    mnrivrat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    4,587
    Location:
    MN
    As stated , each state has its own laws regarding concealed carry. I think something like 36 states now have what is called "shall issue" concealed carry permits.

    In these states the general rule is that one must be 21 & take some certified training , and not have criminal records or anything that would prevent you from posessing(sp) a hangun. ( including mental disorders, restraining orders, felony charges, domestic violence record, etc )
     
  4. strambo

    strambo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,727
    Location:
    Oregon
    Welcome to The High Road. Lots of info in those links for ya. In what are known as "Shall Issue" states, anyone can get a CCW as long as they are over 21, not convicted felons, no disqualifying psych issues (not sure on details) and no domestic violence convictions. You may have to take a class, then fill out paperwork, pay $$, get fingerprinted. Wait a few weeks, then license comes in mail. All states differ on where you can and can't carry.

    In discretionary issue states like CA, you have to know who to bribe (I mean "donate" to) or be a gun hating liberal actor or polititian, or in a few cases have someone threatening your life for der commisar to allow you a permit. Sadly, the above was only slightly sarcastic and barely exaggerated.
     
  5. hso

    hso Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    47,608
    Location:
    0 hrs east of TN
    Welcome to THR.

    Outside of the state by state variability, if you have a clean criminal record that will withstand a governmental review you can get permission from the state to carry a concealed handgun after applying for a permit. Exceptions are those states that do not require you to ask the state for permission to carry a concealed handgun and do not require you to have a permit to do so.
     
  6. nathan

    nathan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,066
    I noticed Texas has the most expensive license fee around $140 compared to $50 like Georgia good for 5 years.
     
  7. wdlsguy

    wdlsguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,880
    Location:
    TX
    Texas CHLs are expensive, but new ones are good for 5 years, and we have fewer off-limits places than Georgia does. We still have a lot of room for improvement in the off-limits department though.

    http://www.handgunlaw.us/documents/USOffLimits.pdf
     
  8. GeorgiaGlocker

    GeorgiaGlocker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    GA is a shall issue state and it cost me only $39 for 5 years, but I had to wait 90 days to receive my Georgia Firearms License GFL (CCW). On the down side GA has some of the most restrictive laws on ther books as to where you can carry. GA does allow open and conceal carry.
     
  9. Lupinus

    Lupinus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,502
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    SC is better then GA but still pretty restrictive. To take it into a doctors office you have to have expressed permision, in other words ask first. Same goes for hospitals. I dunno about you but some of the mall parking lots/decks I have been in have been some of the places I wished I had a gun the most. At least though our sign requirments are strict and I have yet to see a sign that meets the requirments (lettering AND a picture of a gun) and even then I have only seen one sign that meets the lettering requirments. It aint horrible, but still kind of restrictive and goofy.
     
  10. Trebor

    Trebor Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,817
    What state are you in? Laws vary by state.
     
  11. mikeyinokc

    mikeyinokc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    It's pretty expensive in Oklahoma as well.

    $100.00 to Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
    $25.00 to County Sheriff
    $10-$15.00 for passport type pictures
    $60.00 for mandatory class

    But it is worth it, and the license is good for 5 years. There are restrictions, but not as many as some of the other states.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page