Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gun Laws in Utah

Discussion in 'Legal' started by googledotcom33, Jun 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. googledotcom33

    googledotcom33 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Can 18 year olds buy a handgun in a private transaction? The internet seems to claim that that is the case, yet when I called the Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation, the woman I talked to said that it was illegal to sell a handgun to anyone under 21 no matter what.

    I tend to believe her, but I want to buy a handgun from a local guy (I am 19).
    Thoughts?
    Is this just some internet myth? or was the nice lady nice, but very wrong?
    Thanks guys!
     
  2. googledotcom33

    googledotcom33 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Okay so I sent the DPS an email instead of calling them, and they said it was perfectly legal for an 18-20 year old to purchase a hand gun in a private sale in Utah. The problem is this directly contradicts what I was told earlier on the phone. I'm inclined to believe the latter response due to the fact that it benefits me.

    What do you guys think?
     
  3. BunnyPuncher

    BunnyPuncher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    San Antonio
    That you should make damn sure!!
     
  4. Oro

    Oro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,496
    Location:
    WA state
    Unless Utah has some significantly more strict laws than the federal ones (which I doubt), then yes, it's legal to do private transaction if over 18. Just not through a dealer.

    If that is the case, then there will be a law somewhere explaining why. It will be in your state laws, available on line. Search the "Utah Code" for the firearms section, then read them. You need to do this anyway as a firearms owner, to familiarize yourself with all laws pertaining to firearms in your state.
     
  5. Rellian

    Rellian Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    This is the code that is often cited for no one under 21 owning a handgun. This may well be where she got her info. The thing is, it only stipulates BUYING from a LICENSED dealer (an FFL).
    I have always been told that you have to be 21 in the state of Utah to own a handgun. However all of the state code I read through does not say 21 to posses.... just 21 to buy from FFL. In all of the laws I dug up they say 18 to posses. (and there are exceptions there as well)

    I would say Johnny Dollar is right....
     
  6. docfubar

    docfubar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Tooele Utah
    Since you are probably just starting your gun collection, you SHOULD go out and buy Utah Firearm Laws By author and attorney Mitch Vilos. It is highly reccomended.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page