Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just joined IDPA... where do I buy my tutu?

Discussion in 'Competition Shooting' started by 1KPerDay, Mar 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    :D

    BTW:

    has anyone taken advantage of this deal? When can I expect an email/coupon? There was no mention of it after I joined.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. mgmorden

    mgmorden Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,570
    Location:
    Charleston, South Carolina
    I got one when I renewed with USPSA last year. Don't know if they'll handle it the same way but mine just came as a card with a code when my new membership card came in.

    Used mine to setup my single-stack rig. I think by the time everything was applied I got 6 good mag pouches, 1 not-so-good freebie mag pouch, a holster, ball cap, and a few other goodies for like $75.
     
  3. utbrowningman

    utbrowningman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Utah
    Careful. I made a comment in a post about wearing a dress and it was deleted as it was "Sexist" so I suspect the same treatment for you. :)
     
  4. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    Thanks mgmorden... been thinking about springing for a race holster. Which of course has nothing to do with IDPA.

    utbrowningman, the tutu thing was not intended as a sexist remark... merely as a jibe against the love-it-or-hate-it IDPA rules/equipment/stuff. I tried to read the rule book on whether I could shoot the classifier and have it count for multiple divisions but I fell asleep. :D

    I need to get a cover garment also...

     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2014
  5. Jim Watson

    Jim Watson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    22,349
    IDPA does not have a "qualifier." It has a Classifier. You know; magazine, not clip.

    You may now under the new rules apply the same score to more than one division if you
    1. Announce it in advance and have it sent in that way.
    2. Shoot a gun allowed in all divisions. I.E., you can count a SSP in ESP (or CDP if .45) but not the other way around.
     
  6. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    Thank you, I will fix my mistake.
     
  7. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    Another question: what would be the advantage/point of applying one classifier score to all divisions? For example, if I shoot Novice in SSP, but then in another match I want to shoot ESP, would I be considered "unclassified", unless I shoot another classifier with ESP? (Unless I request to have my SSP classification applied to all divisions)

    Or am I missing another advantage here? What's 5-gun award?
     
  8. Jim Watson

    Jim Watson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    22,349
    Many people don't like to shoot the Classifier, it is "dull." So they think it an advantage to shoot the Classifier once and have it cover two or more divisions. (You could shoot a G41 and count the score in SSP, ESP, and CDP. You can apply your ESR score to SSR but not vice versa.)

    The 5 gun award is simply classifying the same in all divisions and getting a certificate to recognize it. Not much call for anything but a 5 Gun Master. Who cares if you are a Sharpshooter across the board?
     
  9. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    Thanks. Maybe I'll try the G41.

    I assume that to be "classified" you have to complete all 3 stages of the classifier, right?

    I for one would be happy if I got Sharpshooter. I suck at shooting paper so I'm afraid they'll just throw me out after they count the hits. LOL :)
     
  10. Jim Watson

    Jim Watson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    22,349
    Yes, you have to shoot the entire Classifier to get a Classification.

    The hard parts are the head boxes in Stage 1 and the 20 yard shooting in Stage 3.

    I sometimes get disgusted with my loss in accuracy from when I used to shoot PPC.
     
  11. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    Thanks. Hopefully I don't screw it up too bad.
     
  12. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    How long does it take for them to send membership card/classification card/whatever? I have a match Saturday. I guess I just take my receipt email as proof of membership?
     
  13. Jim Watson

    Jim Watson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    22,349
    That will do. Most places are very casual about such stuff for club level matches. Ask them to sit on your classification until you know you are entered and listed.
     
  14. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    Well I have a member number and my website login works. so I assume I'm good.
     
  15. gunsablazin

    gunsablazin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Better get a tutu that goes with your eye color! Camo clothing is not against the IDPA rules, but still discouraged. :)
     
  16. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    :D lol

    Shooting the classifier tomorrow. Going to use Glock 41 so I can hopefully apply my score to SSP, ESP, and CDP. Hope I don't screw up too much. I went skiing with my wife all day and my thighs are shredded so hopefully I can kneel/move tomorrow.
     
  17. tarakian

    tarakian Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    I don't know if you can classify for all three at the same time as the division capacity for SSP and ESP is 10, while CDP is 8. If you download to 8 to meet the criteria for CDP, then you would not have the mags loaded to division capacity for SSP and ESP, thereby violating the rules of those divisions. To do all three at once you would need a double action .45 with a max mag capacity of 8 rounds, which would trump the higher capacity requirements of ESP/SSP.
     
  18. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    The classifier doesn't require you to have more than 6 rounds in a mag at one time.

    Also:
     
  19. tarakian

    tarakian Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Learn something new everyday. Thanks 1K.
     
  20. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    No prob... I'm learning that the IDPA rule book is about as nebulous as the U.S. Tax Code (I was going to say Obamacare but I'm sure that would have gotten me banned or something). :D

    Couple things I'm still not clear about:

    Can't reload while moving, right?
    Can't drop an EMPTY mag if there's one in the chamber? That makes no sense to me.
     
  21. Jim Watson

    Jim Watson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    22,349
    I will make sense out of it to you.
    If you do not follow the rules, you will be penalized.

    We can debate the logic and sense of whatever tactical expert allegedly informed the new rules, but the rules are in place and if you want to play the sport, you must abide by them.
     
  22. jmorris

    jmorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    9,325
    I haven't shot a classifier in years but I guess with the new rules it would have made it a lot less trouble to make 5 gun master. Funny that they kept SSR master but I had to shoot again to make it with the same gun to get MA in ESR when they created that division.
     
  23. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    Thanks. :rolleyes:
     
  24. jmorris

    jmorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    9,325
    Making sense of IDPA rules is where you are having the problem. Some of them are just stupid, if you were to do them in the real world.

    For example if you pull a magazine and drop it outside of cover during a reload, in order not to receive a PE you must leave cover to pick up the dropped mag then go back behind cover and finish the reload. If you just grab the next mag off of your belt +3 seconds to your time.

    You can't reload while moving behind cover anymore but you can run the gun dry in the open now and reload on the way to the next shooting position.
     
  25. 1KPerDay

    1KPerDay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,710
    Location:
    Happy Valley, UT
    You can? can you direct me to that section of the rulebook? The ROs at the match were adamant that you could not reload while moving EVER.

    Thanks. :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page